Doctoral students receive Teaching Excellence Awards

Hugh Downs School logo

Four doctoral students with the Hugh Downs School are recipients of the 2011-2012 Graduate and Professional Student Association's excellence in teaching award. Award recipients are Tara Hack, Kendra Knight, Geeta Khurana, and Shawna Malvini Redden.

Each year GPSA recognizes outstanding graduate and professional students across all disciplines on all ASU campuses that exemplify excellence in education and classroom instruction. These teaching awards are highly competitive and applicants must be nominated by students or peers, submit a teaching portfolio, and are observed twice in class by members of the award committee. Of the twenty-two 2011-12 GPSA Teaching Excellence awardees, four come from the Hugh Downs School.