2010-2011 Teaching Excellence Awards Honor Doctoral Students

Three doctoral students with the Hugh Downs School are recipients of the Graduate and Professional Student Association’s excellence in teaching awards. Michelle Kelsey and Benjamin Wiedmaier are recipients of the 2010-2011 Teaching Excellence Award and Elizabeth Cantu is the recipient of the 2010-2011 Continued Excellence in Teaching Award.

The Teaching Excellence Award recognizes outstanding graduate student instructors across all disciplines on all ASU campuses. These teaching awards are highly competitive and applicants must be nominated by students or peers, submit a teaching portfolio, and are observed twice in class by members of the award committee. Recipients of the award will be honored at a Teaching Excellence Luncheon on March 23, 2011 during Graduate and Professional Student Appreciation Week.

Doctoral students Jen Marmo and last year's recipient Matt Savage were also nominated for this year's excellence in teaching award.

More information on the Teaching Excellence Award program is available at http://www.asu.edu/gpsa/tea/